Return to Headlines

Science Fair State Qualifiers

Congratulations to Daniel Wright students who qualified for the Illinois State Science Fair after earning gold awards at the Illinois Regional Science Fair on Saturday, March 7.  

Qualifying for state were Aditi Bhatia, Soheni Dutta, Luna Bien, Abby Ma, Veda Mullangi, Jeffrey Danison, Tanishkka Dhawan, Manasa Gogula, Nikhil Gangavarapu, and Ananya Ramji.

The following students earned a bronze award at regionals: Tamoghna Dutta, Kaashish Ventataramanan, and Sheryl Lawrence.

The following students earned a silver award at regionals: Eshaam Bhattad, Sanjay Malisetty, Dhruv Malladi, Sowmika Mannava, Shriyaa Vijay, and Arjun Patel.

Students worked very hard for a year on their projects. They began by designing their own experiment and conducting extensive background research about their topic. After conducting the experiment, they wrote a full research paper describing the experiment and their results.  Today they presented their project and paper to a panel of judges at regionals.

“Congratulations to our scientists on a wonderful year,” said Steve Beno, who coached the team with Cheryl Cheifetz, Christine Namkung, and Sarah Kantor.