Return to Headlines

Scholastic Bowl State Champs

This was a fantastic year for Daniel Wright’s Scholastic Bowl team. Our 21 team members studied and scrimmaged for two months leading up to the start of the regular season. They learned how to work together and play to each others’ strengths to pull off some impressive wins. They won against some very competitive teams in the region and did the same when they advanced to sectionals. In the state tournament they competed among the top 16 schools in the state out of 380 participating schools. They played three preliminary matches winning all and advanced to the championship against Springfield Franklin which they won in decisive fashion. Please visit the school's Google Doc folder for pictures of the team.

"We are so proud of our team this season. They demonstrated maturity, sportsmanship, and mastery of subject material," said Jan Lamberti, who coached the team with Allyson Ward.

The starting team included Spencer Manning, Ethan Wang, Eric Zhang, Rishab Konada, and team captain Ani Srinivasan. Our eighth-grade bench included Chelsea Zhao, Vibhav Vosa, Netra Wuppalapati, Joseph Neela, Eeshan Gudapati and Nikhilan Rathinakumar. Other team members are Cady Munkhbayar, Ananya Anand, Ahan Archaya, Brendan Kim, Svasti Srivastava, Arjun Rajkumar, Grace Xing, Rishi Vasireddy and Ethan Lertpatanakul.